Geoff Tate's Operation: Mindcrime Performs In Wichita, KS On March 13, 2016

Geoff Tate's Operation: Mindcrime brought their Operation Mindcrime Tour to The Cotillion Ballroom in Wichita, KS on Sunday, March 13, 2016.  While some people decided to head out of town for Spring Break, dedicated rock fans lined up outside of The Cotillion Sunday evening to catch one of The Top 100 Greatest Metal Vocalists of All-Time (Geoff Tate is ranked 14 out of 100 according to Hit Parader and ranked number 2 out of 5 top hard rock vocalists of the 1980's according to That Metal Show).  This wasn't Geoff's first time in Wichita or at The Cotillion, he was here previously on The Farewell Tour with his touring members under the Queensrÿche moniker in August of 2014.  His return to Wichita and The Cotillion was well received as many fans were present to catch the vocalist who would be sure to bring us back to the 1980's and 90's with Queensrÿche classics like "Jet City Woman," "Eyes Of A Stranger" and "Silent Lucidity" just to name a few. However, Operation: Mindcrime did release their debut album, The Key, on Frontiers Records in September of 2015, so fans were also going to be treated to new music by Geoff Tate and Operation: Mindcrime this evening. The Key is the first in a trilogy of albums to be released by Operation: Mindcrime in the coming years that is a concept trilogy based on an international story with central characters which also will delve into virtual currencies, internet banking and stock trading. In mid 2013, Tate revealed that it would not be one album, but a trilogy, stating that, "It's a trilogy, it's three albums that all relate to each other. It's a story, and it's something I've been working on for quite a long time, and finally in the position to, you know, do it now."

The doors of The Cotillion opened promptly at 7pm with a show start time of 8pm. Opening up for Operation: Mindcrime was local favorites, The Banned, who performed many classic covers from bands such as The Cult, Poison and Motley Crüe to name a few.  They also performed an original song or two and definitely got the crowd ready for Operation: Mindcrime.

Operation: Mindcrime took the stage shortly after 9:30pm. Entering the stage one at a time was Randy Gane (keyboards), Kelly Gray (guitarist), Simon Wright (drums/percussion), John Moyer (guitarist), Scott Moughton (guitarist) and Geoff Tate (lead vocals). The band opened their set with "Neue Regel." The full 20 song setlist from this performance can be seen below, but the notable performances, other than the many Queensryche classics performed, was hearing songs off the latest album, The Key.  

Perhaps the best parts of the evening, besides the classic songs we all enjoyed listening to and singing to, was the storytelling done by Geoff about certain songs and how they were written or inspired. Geoff's humor and candid conversations about therapy, shopping and the very inspiration to his writing process made every fan feel connected to the very words he was saying.  The band closed out the evening with a two song encore, and performed "Breaking The Silence" and "Empire."

The current tour runs through mid April, and if you are debating seeing the show, you definitely will want to catch Operation: Mindcrime wherever they are playing because Geoff Tate is not only bringing you the classics that you know every word to, but also an arsenal of new music that you will definitely want to hear live.




geoff tate's operation: mindcrime

the cotillion ballroom

 wichita, ks

march 13, 2016

1. Neue Regel (Queensrÿche)

2. Screaming In Digital (Queensrÿche)

3. I Am I (Queensrÿche)

4. One More Time (Queensrÿche)

5. I Don't Believe In Love (Queensrÿche)

6. Sp00L (Queensrÿche)

7. At 30,000 Ft. (Queensrÿche)

8. Jet City Woman (Queensrÿche)

9. Take Hold Of The Flame (Queensrÿche)

10. Silent Lucidity (Queensrÿche)

11. The Weight Of The World (Queensrÿche)

12. Re-Inventing The Future

13. The Stranger

14. Burn

15. The Fall

16. Damaged (Queensrÿche)

17. Walk In The Shadows (Queensrÿche)

18. Eyes Of A Stranger (Queensrÿche)

19. Breaking The Silence (Queensrÿche)

20. Empire (Queensrÿche)

operation mindcrime ON THE WEB: